FOSS4G 2017 Code Sprint

From OSGeo Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Code Sprint

Venue: Boston, Massachusetts, United States

This year, once again, we are following the old tradition of hosting a code sprint right after FOSS4G 2017. The code sprint will be held Saturday August 19th, 2017 at District Hall (http://www.districthallboston.org/).


Participation in the code sprint is free of charge and all folks currently involved or interested in getting involved in OSGeo community projects are welcome.

This is open to all who wish to participate in one or more projects. There’s always plenty to do – it’s not all about programming. Translation, documentation, feedback, discussions, and testing are also very important for projects! Registration with the conference is not a prerequisite for participation in code sprint.


If you plan to attend, please signup in the table below so we have ample time for planning of snacks and drinks!

.

One thing we’d like to ask you: with over 200 participants anticipated, the WLAN capacity will naturally be exhausted at some point. Please be sure to avoid huge on-site downloads of data, as this could impact the work of others. Thank you!

The Codesprint Organizing Team is looking forward to your coming!

In summary:

When

  • Saturday August 19th 9AM - 5PM


Where

Power connector:

Registered Attendees

The Code Sprint does not cost any money. For us it makes planning easier if we know who is coming. So please leave your Name.

No Name Email Projects Accomodation vegetarian food
1 Regina Obe lr pcorp us PostGIS, GDAL, pgRouting, GEOS home No
2 Leo Hsu lr pcorp us PostGIS, pgRouting home No
3 Guido Stein gstein@appgeo.com FOSS4G home No
4 Vaclav Petras wenzeslaus gmail com GRASS GIS, PDAL No
5 Anna Petrasova akratoc gmail com GRASS GIS No
6 Helena Mitasova hmitaso ncsu edu GRASS GIS No
7 Adam Steer adam.steer anu edu au PDAL,PyWPS No
8 Hyung-Gyu Ryoo hgryoo pnu edu GeoTools, GeoServer No
9 Soojin Kim soojin.kim pnu edu GeoTools, GeoServer No
10 Dan Baston dbaston gmail com PostGIS, GEOS No
11 Paul Ramsey pramsey cleverelephant ca PostGIS, GEOS No
12 Brian M Hamlin maplabs -at- light42 OSGeo Live Yes
13 Ian Turton ian -at- ianturton.com GeoTools, GeoServer No
14 Jim Klassen jklassen -at- sharedgeo.org GeoMoose, MapServer No
15 Chris Marx chrismarx -at- gmail.com PostGIS No
16 Lars Schylberg lars.schylberg -at- blixtmail.se MapServer - documentation/demo No
17 Kyoung-Sook Kim ks.kim -at- aist.go.jp PostGIS, PDAL No
18 Michael Smith michael.smith.erdc-at-gmail.com PDAL,MapServer No
19 Manuel Grizonnet manuel.grizonnet-at-cnes.fr OTB, OSGeo-Live, QGIS No

Workgroups

Getting the most of a code sprint takes a lot of prep. Please use this area to decide on a topic, sort out a plan of attack.

Please keep in mind that the FOSS4G conference is an outreach event. Some of the "new" volunteers are learning about open source for the first time, consider listing some activities (and perhaps having a mentor on hand to facilitate).

Website Training

OSGeo website training is available throughout the day, please mark your name down to attend. We ask that a member of each OSGeo committee, local chapter, geoforall lab make plans to attend. Service providers and sponsors are also welcome.

We will be reviewing both the website publication workflow and the about.yaml structured content used by the project working group.

Attending: Jody Garnett, Jeffrey Johnson

Goals:

Introduce members to the new website, editing workflow, and add to the members map.

Stop by to create your own personal "osgeo branding" using InkScape.

Answer any questions projects have on about.yaml use.

Add to the collection of presentations, videos and tutorial links.

PostGIS

Spatial database extender for PostgreSQL

Attending: Regina Obe, Leo Hsu, Dan Baston, Paul Ramsey


Goals:

  • Getting ready for PostGIS 2.4.0 release.
  • Testing out what we'll be pushing.
  • Thoughts on better integration with GDAL and PostGIS. Most notably the sucky support of out of db tables in GDAL.
  • Better integration of document translations

GRASS GIS

Backend and desktop geospatial analysis tool

Attending: Vaclav Petras, Anna Petrasova, Helena Mitasova

Goals: Documentation, images for manual pages, and testing for next release.

GeoTools

GeoTools is an open source Java library that provides tools for geospatial data.

Attending:

Jody Garnett, Ian Turton

Goals:

  • Java 9 "Service Provider Interface" compatibility
  • Service Locator based FactoryRegistery replacement
  • Updated factory tutorials to document FactoryRegistry replacement

New to Open Source:

GeoServer

Popular web application for sharing geospatial information, written in Java.

Attending:

Jody Garnett, Torben Barsballe, Kevin Smith, Ian Turton

Goals:

  • Coordinate Java 9 upgrade with GeoTools project


New to Open Source:

  • Volunteers assist with any remaining REST API docs ahead of the 2.12 release, come prepaired with a GeoServer installation and your own github id.
  • Developers come prepaired with build and development environment we can help answer any questions if you get stuck.