Google Summer of Code 2016 Administrative

From OSGeo
Revision as of 02:20, 3 March 2016 by Moovida (Talk | contribs) (Mentors)

Jump to: navigation, search

GSoC2016Logo.jpg @ OSGeo 300 127 pixel.png

This is the central page for OSGeo administrative information in Google Summer of Code 2016.

GSoC general information

Contacts

  • Margherita Di Leo acts as Administrative contact, with support from Anne Ghisla. Feel free to email us with any questions, we're here to help mentor the mentors as much as anything else!
  • Would-be mentors and students: you are invited to sign up to the OSGeo SoC mailing list right away. The list is the central communication channel for mentors, students and administrators. It is used for general GSoC announcements, specific OSGeo announcements, and for clarification about the program. As soon as you subscribe it, you are encouraged to introduce yourself and your role. We look forward to hear from you!

Mentors

If you're interested in mentoring / supervising a student for one of the software participating this year under OSGeo's umbrella, please add your name, email, OSGeo/guest software and the projects you're interested in mentoring here:

Number Name Surname Nickname (IRC) email Software Project / Idea(s) you are available to mentor
1 Margherita Di Leo madi diregola AT gmail DOT com admin at OSGeo Administrator of GSoC at OSGeo
2 Alexander Bruy alexbruy alexander.bruy AT gmail.com QGIS QGIS
3 Victor Olaya volaya volayaf AT gmail DOT com QGIS QGIS
4 Daniel Kastl dkastl daniel AT georepublic DOT de pgRouting pgRouting
5 Massimiliano Cannata maxi massimiliano.cannata AT gmail DOT com istSOS istSOS
6 Milan Antonovic milan milan.antonovic AT gmail DOT com istSOS istSOS
7 Jachym Cepicky jachym jachym.cepicky AT gmail PyWPS PyWPS
8 Andrea Antonello moovida andrea.antonello AT gmail DOT com JGrasstools, gvSIG, Geopaparazzi JGrasstools, gvSIG, Geopaparazzi

A Mentor's Responsibilities

Being a mentor can take anywhere from 2-10 hours a week of your time depending on the student (it really is in your best interest to take on the strongest students you can find :). You must have the time to be responsive and an advocate for the student. No matter how cool the project is and how much your team needs the job done, if you can't commit to supporting it, experience shows that the best thing to do is not start it, i.e. even with the best of intentions don't set a student up to fail. Long story short, student projects simply can't go ahead without proper mentoring support.

Every student project will also have a backup mentor, this person should come from your programming team and should at minimum keep up to date with the student's weekly developments. The best way is if the student is well integrated into your development team from the start, it lessens the workload on you and betters the buy-in from the rest of the community once you're ready for the final code merge.

You must be available at some time during the midterm and final evaluation period. If you will be away during these time periods please arrange with the OSGeo org admins and your backup mentor so that one of us can fill in your answers for you. These are hard cutoffs -- evaluations must be filed within these dates.

Guides for mentors

Learn more